| Edgetone Store | Bandcamp | Amazon Music | Amazon mp3 | iTunes | Returns |
| About Us | Press |
free jazz, nu jazz, electronic, experimental music, avant rock, harsh noise, noise, laptop, field effects
Subscribe to our mailing list
Estamos Ensemble

Estamos Ensemble is composed of musicians from Mexico and the U.S. The intention of Estamos Ensemble is to foster more communication and collaboration between musicians of our two bordering countries as well as a better understanding of and appreciation for the citizens of our countries in general. The verb estamos in Spanish means 'we are' in the non-permanent sense. This is intrinsic to the nature of the Estamos Ensemble.
This concept is in the spirit of the project: always changing and open to new and different kinds of involvement.

The ensemble presently consists of ten musicians, including founder Thollem McDonas as a fellow musician and Artistic Director. The criteria for the selection and invitation to perform in this ensemble is based first on individuals who expressed a connection with the spirit of the project and who see the need for this kind of collaboration and exchange, and secondly on the individuals' experience and ability who are improvisers, and who play a variety of instruments. The ensemble represents a cross-section of both countries, ethnically, generationally, and in terms of gender. Taking advantage of the flexibility of the individuals, the ensemble has performed the works of living composers from both countries as well as spontaneous compositions (free and structured improvisations).

PERFORMING ARTISTS Theresa Wong - Cello, Voice (US); Emilio Tamez - Percussion (MX); Marko Novachcoff - Various Winds (US); Alexander Bruck - Viola (MX); Ava Mendoza - Guitar (US); Julián Martínez Vázquez - Violin (MX); Vinny Golia - Various Winds (US); Carmina Escobar - Voice, Electronics (MX); Kjell Nordeson - Vibraphone (US/Sweden); Thollem McDonas - Piano, Artistic Director (US)

COMPOSERS Ana Lara (MX); Nels Cline (US); Juan Felipe Waller (MX); Pauline Oliveros (US); Joan Jeanrenaud (US); Vinny Golia (US); Jorge Torres Sáenz (MX); William Parker (US); Thollem McDonas (US)

GUEST ARTISTS Glenn Weyant (US); Arrington deDionyso (US)

Artist Website